Like most states in this country, auto insurance is not an option – it’s the law. However, if you are looking at different New Jersey auto insurance policies, you’re probably wondering what exactly you are required to have since there are a number of different coverages available.
Every state except for New Hampshire requires the owner of a vehicle to have auto liability insurance. This type of coverage also includes bodily injury coverage, which means that if you are in an accident that results in someone being injured, then the insurance will pay for the medical bills and any other related costs. Auto liability insurance also includes property damage coverage, which means that if you are the cause of damage to another car, or other property, the cost of repairs or replacements will be covered.
Most states will require you to purchase a bare minimum of $20,000 to $25,000 per person in bodily injury liability coverage, as well as $40,000 to $50,000 per accident. They will also require a minimum of between $5,000 and $25,000 per accident for property damage liability coverage. Keep in mind that these are the bare minimum amounts – you should really consider purchasing more in order to be completely safe, financially. There are also a few states that require uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, in addition to personal injury protection.
If you have any other questions concerning New Jersey auto insurance and what type of coverage is required, be sure to contact us at CCW Insurance today.
Image Source: morgueFile